About Me…

Since I was diagnosed with a chronic illness I have been searching far and wide on the internet for hope. Hope that I could one day feel better, hope that I could one day feel like myself again, and hope that one day I just may wake up and forget that this illness lives inside of me. Well, I didn’t find that. What I found were mounds and mounds of blogs and websites telling me that I was sick, and that I was going to remain sick. And you know what? Being sick really sucks, but what sucks even more is being surrounded by information telling me I was going to remain this way. Now, I’m not living in denial, I am fully aware of what is going on, but I am firm believer in the power of positive thoughts and actions. So, I decided that I would create my own blog, my own ray of sunshine, and maybe this blog will help connect me to other people with a similar mindset. It’s time to get better people, now let’s get to it!

My name is Samantha and I am a mother of 2, a wife, a teacher, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a cousin, a graduate student, and a person who is living with POTS Syndrome. For those that don’t know, Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome can be explained here:  http://www.dysautonomiainternational.org/page.php?ID=30 Basically, my heart rate can sky rocket for no reason other than I stand up. I am dizzy almost all day, every day. I have moments of “brain fog”that are so bad I can barely remember where I am and I am exhausted. All. The. Time. I have low blood volume and moments when my blood pressure unexpectedly drops dangerously low. While there are many, many other symptoms that people can have, those are the ones that get in my way on a daily basis.

You may ask yourself, “how in the world did she get that?!” Well, I ask myself that everyday. It seems that I have a type of POTS that is called primary, or post viral, meaning they aren’t really sure why it’s there, it may have come on after my body was done fighting a virus. I went from a healthy and happy 30 year old to a person that I barely recognized.

While this blog is meant as a place for me to talk about POTS, it will also serve a place for me to talk about all the wonderful people in my life, sappy, I know. I have an amazing support system in place, and without them there is no way that I could possibly be where I am today. My family, friends, co-workers and graduate school cohort members are amazing. Plain and simple. I choose to surround myself with the best people, and now that I’m sick I hold myself to that. Life is way too short to waste your time with negative people or in an unhealthy situation. Happiness is a choice, and I’m choosing it!

Blog #1 complete! Stay tuned for more!

b4ef6bcde583b6b0ac9e6da2d43af27f

8 thoughts on “About Me…

  1. Yoyr doing a super job with a super positive attitude! Keep. Up the great work job! Everyone expects life to be a gift and a joy ride andthe truth is God leaves us all with huge challenges and a tough Test!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your doing a super job with a super positive attitude! Keep. Up the great work job! Everyone expects life to be a gift and a joy ride and the truth is God leaves us all with huge challenges and a tough Test! Keep up the great work, we shall overcome! Love ya

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

