So, what’s new with you?!

It’s been a while since my last blog entry, and believe it or not, people have actually asked me why I haven’t written in a while! It makes my day when people say that because it makes me feel like people are actually enjoying what they’re reading…even though it may be a little wild and crazy sometimes…it’s nothing if it’s not honest!

So, what’s new with me? A lot actually! It’s been a mixed bag since Christmas. I was reallllllly bad (see previous posts about having a mental breakdown on the bathroom floor…) then I got better (see post about skiing with Colby!!!) then I got bad again…and right now I feel like I’m treading water.

I started another round of my Lyme antibiotic, which has given me no real trouble, and another one was added to it. That’s when all hell broke lose. Because of some of the meds I’m on my for POTS, they interacted with this new Lyme med and made me very ill. Not just ill, heart stopping ill. It’s something that’s called a QT interval, it’s the time if takes your heart to recuperate itself from one beat to the next. When the QT interval is too long, the heart basically isn’t bouncing back as it should and it can cause a whole slew of issues. For me, it made me ten time dizzier (if you can even imagine!!!) it made my chest hurt, it made me disoriented, extremely cold and I felt like I was on the verge of a heart attack. I could feel the beats were not happening as they should. Last Wednesday I was in my grad class and I swear that my heart stopped beating, only for a few seconds, but it was long enough to think “shit, I can’t die HERE!” πŸ™‚ Β All jokes aside, it was terrifying. When I got home I completely broke down and swore to my husband that I was NOT putting that medicine into my body again, and I haven’t…and I am slowly recovering.

When I first started to have a bad reaction I didn’t put it all together. I thought that it was just my POTS acting up because I am dizzy a lot anyway. But, nothing ever like this. I can typically make it through my day and while I may feel terrible, I can smile through it and fake it till I make it! Not with this drug though. I had an episode at Walgreens buying a birthday card for my sister, I got so dizzy and disoriented I had no idea where I was. My brain just stopped working. I couldn’t even form a sentence. I had to sit down in the middle of the candy aisle (not the worst place to be stuck πŸ™‚ ) and close my eyes until I came back. Some people stopped to help me, some people looked at me like I was crazy, and some people probably thought I was on drugs! Ha! If they only knew! I can only thank god that my kids weren’t with me! I pulled myself together and went to pick the kids up from daycare. When we got home I loaded them and all their loot into the house, on my last trip out to the car I got so dizzy that I fell down our stairs. Yep. Every. Single. Step. Cute huh?? Colby came running over and said “Mommy! You need to hold the railings, it’s icy!!” hmmm, I wonder where he’s heard that before?! πŸ™‚ He helped me inside and we had a good laugh, but I got pretty banged up.

20150210_142359

Another new development is this:

20150205_093128

That’s right, at the ripe old age of 31 I’ve finally given in and purchased one of these! Let me tell you how cool I felt buying this at the pharmacy!! But, with so many meds and being so disoriented, it was the only choice. The only way I could safely take my medicine every day. I know you’re jealous… πŸ˜‰

There have been a few glimmers of happy sprinkled into all of this! My son had his first sleepover and LOVED it! He went to step up day for hockey and got to practice with the Mites! The coach said he would be ready next year, woo hoo! He’s doing great in school, and he’s a perfect 5 year old! My daughter has mastered the fine art of manipulation by cuteness! She has talked me into watching Frozen for what feels like 100 times, and we have enjoyed several snow days playing with her baby dolls. She’s the perfect 2 year old! My husband is as awesome and support as always. He doesn’t get as long of a section as the kids! πŸ™‚ As I sit here and think about something that I’ve done that I can brag about, all I can think is that I shoveled off my deck…and while it made me exhausted…it was worth it! Take that POTS & Lyme!!

20150207_125127

So, that’s it in a nutshell. I’m feeling well today, so let’s hope that’s a trend that sticks around for a while! Thank you all for your continued love and support! Couldn’t do this alone! So, anyway, what’s new with you?!

Leave a Reply

