I love my job, but I love my health more…

I’m going to start this blog with a disclaimer: I love my job. I love my coworkers. I love my students. I love everything about teaching and I know I have the most absolutely perfect schedule and situation for a mom who has to work. It is my job to provide health insurance for my family and to contribute to our household income. I get allllll of that, and I want to make sure you do too. This blog is an update about my health and is NOT a reflection of my school or any of the people in it.

transition

That being said, taking this time off has been the best thing I have ever done for myself and for my health…and I’m not sure how I feel about going back to work. I am rested, I am more relaxed, I am focused on my health and I am actually feeling (gasp!) pretty well. I can’t believe two weeks has already gone by. I have one more week off and then it’s back to work for me. At first I thought there was no way I would be able to fill my time, but it’s amazing how I’ve adjusted to this new schedule. I can get the sleep I need, I have the time to cook healthy and satisfying (POTS friendly) meals, I can exercise at a comfortable pace, and I have time to mediate everyday….don’t knock it until you try it! I thought it was a bunch of hocus pocus too until I bought the CD and now I do it daily. It’s pretty great. I’ve also had time to reach other to other people with POTS through my blog and through online forums, this is something that I used to steer away from, and now I can’t get enough. I used to be afraid to hear others stories, and now I find it so interesting. This illness presents itself in so many different ways, I like to know how other people are dealing, and any tips I can pass along, I’m happy to do so! Most recently I’ve met a mother who’s daughter was diagnosed with POTS and she is as interested as I am in getting the word out to the world about this syndrome. Interestingly enough, this family is from my home town and she actually went to high school with my dad…small world! I also have been talking to a woman from my area who is struggling with POTS…it’s crazy to say it, but it feels nice to know that there ARE other people locally who are dealing with this. It’s not just me in this crazy messed up situation.

I’ve spent a lot of time reading…reading books, articles, blogs, chatrooms anything and everything that I can get my hands on. The knowledge I’ve gained from this has been invaluable. Again, this is something that used to scare the hell out of me. If you remember back to some of my original blogs I talk about how scary POTS support groups were on Facebook…and don’t get me wrong, they can still be scary…but now I’m coming from a different mindset. I just disregard the “misery loves company” posts and I keep reading until I see something that strikes my interest. There is always discussion on new meds, new doctors, and new jokes that keep a smile on my face. Potsie people, stay tuned for a blog entry about the specific books I’ve read! 🙂 There are some good ones!

13839785624_a423c0e4b1_z

So for now, I have one more week to continue on this path to feeling the best I can. I have a pretty big appointment tomorrow when we go over some recent lab results…we’re looking at the lyme numbers and a host of other infections and co-infections that I was tested for…sounds romantic doesn’t it?! 😉 The doc is still a little concerned with the level of fatigue I’m feeling, so we’ve got to check all those out. I’m trying to not think about it…just taking it one day at a time. I am concerned about going back to work. I’m worried that all of this progress will slip away when that schedule sets back in. I’m just going to try and keep as much of this routine as I can….and the plus side is…there is only 6.5 more weeks of school once I return. I can handle that…and then it’s SUMMER VACATION!!! I promised myself (and my family!) that I’m not going to do any work this summer, no inservice days, no extra initiatives, nothing extra…so I’m hoping some of you will help hold me to that promise! I can be a bit of a work-a-holic… 😉

I guess the last thing I want to mention is the outpouring of love and support I’ve gotten these past two weeks. I’ve heard from friends I haven’t talked to in years, my family has been amazing, my circle of friends that I see regularly have all stepped up, some of my coworkers check in on a regular basis. This means the world to someone who isn’t feeling well. I appreciate all of it, I really do. From the quick text, Facebook message, or email, to the hour long phone calls, the meals for my family, the babysitting and the offers to clean my house…thank you so so much for all your support through this journey. I cannot ever begin to thank you all individually…just know that I love you! ❤ It really is true that you find out who your friends are when times get tough…and I’ve decided that you are all simply the very best875ac741d87de8afd295189413d29f95

2 thoughts on “I love my job, but I love my health more…

  1. Thanks so much for sending this to me. I still can’t remember to check into FB! You are doing the right thing for YOU and your FAMILY. Looking forward to seeing you soon. love, Merrill

    On Mon, May 4, 2015 at 11:16 AM, Happiness is a choice…especially with a

    Like

  2. I was watching some reruns of one of those diagnose me shows yesterday. There was a guy with Lyme and a young lady with POTS. Of course, both went through several docs before figuring it out.
    I love my job and peers as well, but less hours would sure make it easier to take care of my health. Enjoy your week! 8)

    Like

Leave a Reply

