POTS and Lyme….and Mono?!?

d3abd67c704404baa8fb9769e3154ef0

Well, I’ve officially been back to work for 1 week. I’m alive…but it definitely hasn’t been an easy transition. The biggest difference I’ve noticed is sleep. Now that I’m back to work I’m not sleeping like I was before. I can’t fall asleep because my mind races with things I have to do the next day and when the alarm goes off at 5:30, it feels like I haven’t slept at all. My summer courses have also started up again, and that adds to the stress and takes away from the time that I could be sleeping. My diet and exercise routine has pretty much stayed the same, so that is definitely a positive change. I’m still having more good days than bad days…and as anyone with a chronic illness knows…that is considered a major success!! Overall, I am SO happy that I took those 3 weeks to get myself back on track…and now I only have 5.5 more weeks to go until summer vacation starts…but who’s counting?!

images

Another development occurred 2 weeks ago when I went to the doctor to review my most recent labs. We learned that 1) The CDC has decided that I still have Lyme Disease…(Duh! That was never a question) 2) My Lyme numbers are pretty low and the results show the Lyme has not progressed into the advance stages…which is EXCELLENT! It means that the treatment is keeping it controlled. 3) I also have….a raging case of MONO. Mono? Seriously?! It certainly explains the extra fatigue I’ve been feeling, but for the love of God, I cannot take another diagnosis, especially one with no official treatment! How did I get this? I have no idea…So now, I’m faced with this treatment plan:

– For Lyme I need to rest my body to let it recover…and take a million pills….

– For Mono I need to rest my body to let it recover

– For POTS I need to NOT rest, and I need to keep my body moving as much as possible…and take a million pills…

Oh…well….awesome. That should be easy to do….?

Unknown

That’s it for now I think…I’m just trying to keep a smile on my face and my thoughts as happy as possible until the next bump in the road!

why-stupid-women-keep-smiling_o_1927955

2 thoughts on “POTS and Lyme….and Mono?!?

  1. Mono?! I bet you haven’t even been kissing around. Honestly, the stuff we get when Lyme decides to do a number on our immune system . . . I hope you’re laughing instead of the alternative. I can’t say that I have mono (yet) but I sure do have some co-infections that make me giggle and wonder “Where did I get that?!” Probably from eating too much bad Mexican food, for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

