Time to brag about my Colby <3

62105_455328184538561_1678101993_n

One of the most difficult parts of having an illness, is trying to manage it while still being a good mommy. As I’ve talked about in several other blogs, it’s a constant battle between trying to take care of my health, and my children. My number one job in this world is raise these amazing babies, and there are times when I feel like I’m failing. I feel like they get robbed…POTS is robbing them of healthy time with their mother, and I hate POTS for that. BUT! Something amazing happened this week that reminded me even though this life might not be what I consider to be *perfect* for them, they are pretty perfect regardless!

e48a1be9067adb74bdeedec5bf96a2f3

For the first time I was on the parent end of a parent-teacher conference. I’ve done 8 years worth of these conferences being the teacher, but I was SO nervous to be the parent. I’m not sure why I had so much anxiety over the meeting…I love Colby’s teacher, and I know that he’s as smart as a whip. But, being the first time, and being so worried about my kids, I wasn’t sure what to expect. To make a long story short, Colby is a total rock star at school. He is meeting standards and learning new skills everyday. His math skills, reading and writing are progressing so quickly, one of his pieces of art work was chosen to be displayed in an art show, and he is quite the athlete (no surprise there!) in PE class. All of that was so nice to hear…but the part that really blew me away was that each and every teacher told us that Colby is kind, a good listener, a great friend, always follows directions, and is a pleasure to have in school. He earns citizens awards for his positive attitude and for overall being a great school citizen. Even writing those words and thinking over those conversations brings tears to my eyes right now. Colby really is such a kind person at heart, and it makes me so proud.

12140826_10102656779060319_388438775829385728_n

I truly do believe that POTS syndrome may be part of the reason he is who he is. He can be so understanding and sympathetic when I’m not feeling well…and those qualities are translating into his life at school. He is always rubbing my back and tucking me in when I’m in the middle of a flare. That little boy has the biggest heart. So, thank you POTS for providing my children the experiences that will help to make them empathetic, wonderful people. (yes…I just THANKED POTS for something…don’t get used to it, people!) ๐Ÿ™‚

12072750_10102663211140379_4741309899266531498_n

I’m so happy that Sophie has such a positive role model to help her grow up!

12063340_10102684026885459_2649370497662752741_n

On the health front…it’s been a pretty crummy week! I’ve been fighting off the cold that the kiddos had, and the cold finally won. Coughing, the shakes, body aches, sweats, sore throat…you name it, Paul and I have it. Ugh. As my POTS readers know, cold meds aren’t safe for us because they all tend to mess with blood pressure, which is a no-no. So, I’m trying to flush it out with water and Tylenol. As of print time…the cold/flu is winning! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย Here’s hoping it passes quickly and doesn’t cause a major flare!

Until next time! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

